arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price



About this release

Sunfighter is a 1971 album by Paul Kantner and Grace Slick from Jefferson Airplane. The album was released shortly after the Airplane album Bark was released, and is the second record released on
the Airplane's own Grunt label, backed by RCA.

The album features a picture of Kantner and Slick’s baby daughter, China Wing Kantner on the cover and the song “China” is named after her. The song "Sunfighter" is dedicated to Marty Balin, who had formed Jefferson Airplane with Kantner, and “Diana” is about Diana Oughton who was a member of the Weather Underground, an American militant left-wing organization founded on the Ann Arbor campus of the University of Michigan.

Many Bay Area musicians perform on the album, including members of the Grateful Dead, Crosby, Stills, and Nash, and the horn group, Tower of Power. The album also features Craig Chaquico who would go on to become the lead guitarist for Jefferson Starship.

This is a special edition release on orange vinyl.


1. Silver Spoon
2. Diana
3. Sunfighter
4. Titanic
5. Look At The Wood
6. When I Was a Boy I
Watched the Wolves
7. Million
8. China
9. Earth Mother
10. Diana 2
11. Universal Copernican
12. Holding Together


Related artists

No related artists for Sunfighter.

Shopping Cart