arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price



About this release

Hot Tuna is an American blues band formed in 1969 by guitarist Jorma Kaukonen and bassist Jack Casady during a break from Jefferson Airplane while Grace Slick was recovering from throat surgery.

The band played several shows around San Francisco before Jefferson Airplane resumed. Their early repertoire was derived mainly from Airplane material and covers of American country and blues artists.  The band’s name came from someone Kaukonen refers to as a “witty wag” who called out “hot tuna” after hearing the line “What’s that smell like fish, oh baby” from the song “Keep On Truckin’”.

This selection features the band’s first two albums “Hot Tuna” (1970) and “First Pull Up, Then Pull Down” (1971) released on RCA and the later “Double Dose” live album recorded at Theatre 1839, San Francisco and released in 1977 on Jefferson Airplane’s own Grunt label.


CD 1 - Hot Tuna

1. Hesitation Blues
2. How Long Blues
3. Uncle Sam Blues
4. Don’t You Leave Me Here
5. Death Don’t Have No Mercy
6. Know You Rider
7. Oh Lord Search My Heart
8. Winin’ Boy Blues
9. New Song (For The Morning)
10. Mann’s Fate
11. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
12. Candy Man
13. True Religion
14. Belly Shadow
15. Come Back Baby

CD 2 - First Pull Up, Then Down

1. John’s Other
2. Candy Man
3. Been So Long
4. Want You To Know
5. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
6. Never Happen No More
7. Come Back Baby

CD 2 - Double Dose (Side 1)

8. Winin’ Boy Blues
9. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning
10. Embryonic Journey
11. Killing Time In The Crystal City

CD 3 - Double Dose (Sides 2, 3 and 4)

1. I Wish You Would
2. Genesis
3. Extrication Love Song
4. Talking ‘Bout You
5. Funky #7
6. Serpent Of Dreams
7. Bowlegged Woman, Knock Kneed Man
8. I See The Light
9. Watch The North Wind Rise
10. Sunrise Dance With The Devil
11. I Can’t Be Satisfied


Shopping Cart