arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

The Polydor Years

The Polydor Years

Track highlights

About this release

Pink Fairies grew out of The Deviants, a loose-knit band formed in 1967 by members of the West London hippie commune in Ladbroke Grove. Consisting primarily of vocalist Mick Farren, guitarist Paul Rudolph, bassist Duncan Sanderson, and drummer Russell Hunter, the group also featured satellite members Marc Bolan, Steve Peregrine Took, and players from the band Group X, later rechristened Hawkwind. After a disastrous US tour, Farren was fired and the remaining Deviants returned to London, where they recruited vocalist and former Pretty Things drummer Twink (born John Alder), who suggested the name Pink Fairies.

Despite gaining a reputation for mythic debauchery, the group remained largely an underground sensation before signing to Polydor and releasing the three albums featured on this 3 CD set. The first two albums were recorded by the original line-up but Rudolph was replaced by Larry Wallis for the third (Kings Of Oblivion). Rudolph returned when the band reformed in the 80s.


CD1 - Never Never Land

1. Do It
2. Heavenly Man
3. Say You Love Me
4. War Girl
5. Never Never Land
6. Track One, Side Two
7. Thor
8. Teenage Rebel
9. Uncle Harry's Last Freak-Out
10. The Dream Is Just Beginning
Bonus tracks
11. The Snake
12. Do It (single edit)
13. War Girl (alt mix)
14. Uncle Harry's Last Freak-Out (alt mix)

CD2 - What A Bunch Of Sweeties

1. Prologue
2. Right On, Fight On
3. Portobello Shuffle
4. Marilyn
5. The Pigs of Uranus
6. Walk Don't Run
7. I Went Up, I Went Down
8. X-Ray
9. I Saw Her Standing There
10. Prologue
Bonus tracks
11. Going Down
12. Walk Don’t Run (first version)

CD3 - Kings of Oblivion

1. City Kids 
2. I Wish I Was a Girl 
3. When's The Fun Begin? 
4. Chromium Plating 
5. Raceway 
6. Chambermaid
7. Street Urchin
Bonus tracks
8. Well Well Well (single version)
9. Hold On (single version)
10. City Kids (alt mix)
11. Well Well Well (alt mix)

Album Review - Record Collector, May 2019


Related artists

No related artists for The Polydor Years.

Shopping Cart