arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Texas Radio And The Big Beat

Texas Radio And The Big Beat

About this release

The late great Doug Sahm was born in San Antonio, Texas.  He was a child prodigy in country music but became a significant figure in roots rock and other genres as well.

Sahm is considered one of the most important figures in what is identified as Tex-Mex music.  Proficient on multiple instruments, he was the founder and leader of the 1960s rock and roll band, the Sir Douglas Quintet. He would later co-found the Texas Tornados with Augie Meyers, Freddy Fender, and Flaco Jiménez as well as Los Super Seven

This two CD set features music from Sahm’s heyday solo years.  Disc one is a live show originally broadcast by KUT in Austin Texas in 1973 and the second disc is a Tex-Mex set recorded at The Liberty Hall in Houston in 1974.

Tracks – CD1

Doug Sahm and band 
- Bijou Cafe Philadelphia 1973

1. Intro Broadcast From KUT FM Austin Texas
2. Oh Pretty Woman
3. I’m Glad For Your Sake But I’m Sorry For Mine
4. She’s About A Mover
5. Are Inlaws Really Outlaws
6. Talk To Me
7. Is Anybody Going To San Antone?
8. Wolverton Mountain
9. Jambalaya
10. Right Or Wrong
11. Stormy Monday
12. The Rains Came
13. Papa Ain’t Salty
14. Mendocino
15. KUT Broadcast Wrap Up

Tracks CD2

Doug Sahm and The Tex Mex Band
 - Liberty Hall Houston August 15 1974

1. Papa Ain’t Salty
2. Texas Tornado
3. Rain Rain
4. At The Crossroads
5. Stormy Monday
6. Georgia On My Mind
7. Wasted Days And Wasted Nights
8. Is Anybody Going To San Antone?


Related artists

No related artists for Texas Radio And The Big Beat.

Shopping Cart