arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Turns On Volume 1

Turns On Volume 1

About this release

Out of stock

As the year 1967 progressed so did the musical exposure of Soft Machine and their shows incorporated full audio visual experiences of the time to include light displays. It is these shows from which the tracks on volume 2 are taken.

The songs incorporate the works of Kevin Ayers, Hugh and Brian Hopper and there are pieces by Mike Ratledge and Robert Wyatt which would later flourish into extended suites and form the backbone of their live recordings and concerts.

During 1967, Australian Daevid Allen was forced to leave the band due to an expired passport but he was later to form Gong. Soft Machine continued as a trio until Andy Summers joined them as guitarist for the American tour in 1968 where the band were the support for Jimi Hendrix. It was after this tour that Hugh Hopper rejoined the band with Kevin leaving, and Soft Machine then entered it's classic phase.

This album captures Soft Machine prior to its classic period with a distinctive style created by Robert Wyatt and Kevin Ayers from the Wilde Flowers along with Daevid Allen and Mike Ratledge. The band indulged in considerable improvisation with long continuous sets sometimes ear splittingly loud. Some brilliant tracks with stylish artwork which will be a must for followers of the Canterbury Music Scene.


  1. I Should’ve Known
  2. We Know What You Mean
  3. I’m So Low
  4. Clarence In Wonderland
  5. Hope For Happiness
  6. I Should’ve Known
  7. We Know What You Mean
  8. She’s Gone
  9. Save Yourself
  10. Lullaby Letter
  11. I Shoud’ve Known
  12. A Certain Kind
  13. Clarence In Wonderland
  14. May I (Instrumental Variant)
  15. Hope For Happiness



Related artists

Shopping Cart