arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Hard Again / I'm Ready / King Bee

Hard Again / I'm Ready / King Bee

About this release

McKinley Morganfield, known professionally as Muddy Waters, was born in April 1913.  He was an American blues singer-songwriter and musician who is often cited as the "father of modern Chicago blues", and an important figure on the post-war blues scene.

The three albums on this compilation were some of his last recordings before he passed away in April 1983.  The first of the three – Hard Again (1977) - is widely regarded as one of Waters’ finest.  Recorded in all of three days, and produced by Johnny Winter on guitar and backing vocals, it featured Waters’ touring band, namely Pinetop Perkins (piano), ‘Steady Rollin’ Bob Margolin (guitar), Charles Calmese (bass), and Willie ‘Big Eyes’ Smith (drums), with the harmonica great James Cotton also weighing in with mighty contributions.  The other two – I’m Ready (1978) and King Bee (1981) – used the same line-up and are equally well regarded. 

This is Waters at the top of his game and a “must have” for any blues collection.


CD1 - Hard Again
1. Mannish Boy
2. Bus Driver
3. I Want To Be Loved #2
4. Jealous Hearted Man
5. I Can't Be Satisfied
6. The Blues Had A Baby And They Named It Rock And Roll
7. Deep Down In Florida
8. Crosseyed Cat
9. Little Girl

CD2 - I’m Ready
1. I'm Ready
2. 33 Years
3. Who Do You Trust
4. Copper Brown
5. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
6. Mamie
7. Rock Me
8. Screamin' And Cryin'
9. Good Morning Little School Girl

CD 3 - King Bee
1. I'm A King Bee
2. Too Young To Know
3. Mean Old Frisco Blues
4. Forever Lonely
5. I Feel Like Going Home
6. Champagne & Reefer
7. Sad Sad Day
8. (My Eyes) Keep Me
In Trouble
9. Deep Down In Florida #2
10. No Escape From The Blues


Related artists

No related artists for Hard Again / I'm Ready / King Bee.

Shopping Cart