arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

The Player: A Retrospective

The Player: A Retrospective

Track highlights

About this release

David Bromberg is an American multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter.  An eclectic artist, Bromberg plays bluegrass, blues, folk, jazz, country and western, and rock and roll.  He is known for his quirky, humorous lyrics, and for his fingerpicking style that he learned from Reverend Gary Davis.

Bromberg has played with many famous musicians, including Jerry Jeff Walker, Willie Nelson, Jorma Kaukonen, Jerry Garcia, Rusty Evans (The Deep) and Bob Dylan.  He co-wrote the song "The Holdup" with former Beatle George Harrison, who played on Bromberg's self-titled 1972 album.  In 2008, he was nominated for a Grammy Award.

This album brought to you at mid-price is a good summary of David Bromberg's career, containing the majority of his best songs including " "The Holdup", "Mr. Bojangles", and "Sharon" backed by three members of The Grateful Dead, namely Jerry Garcia (electric guitar, vocals), Bill Kreutzmann (drums) and Keith Godchaux (piano).


1. Sharon
2. The Holdup (Live)
3. Mr. Bojangles (Live)
4. Suffer To Sing The Blues
5. Mr. Blue
6. The Joke's On Me
7. Sammy's Song
8. Yankee's Revenge (Medley)
9. Wallflower (Live)
10. Statesboro Blues/ Church Bell Blues (Live)
11. Nobody's
12. The Main Street Moan
13. I Like To Sleep In The Morning
14. Dehlia (Live)
15. The Holdup

Album Review - Flying Shoes, January 2019 


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for The Player: A Retrospective.

Shopping Cart