arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Taj's Blues

Taj's Blues

Track highlights

About this release

Taj Mahal is one of the most prominent figures in late 20th century blues.  He is a self-taught singer-songwriter and film composer who plays the guitar, piano, banjo, and harmonica, among many other instruments.  He often incorporates elements of world music into his work and has done much to reshape the definition and scope of blues music over the course of his almost 50-year career by fusing it with non-traditional forms, including sounds from the Caribbean, Africa, and the South Pacific

This album brought to you at mid-price is a diverse collection of many of his best performances for Columbia, including "Statesboro Blues" and "Leaving Trunk," as well as the unreleased "East Bay Woman".  It features a variety of blues and roots-music styles, all fused together into a distinctive sound of its own.  Half the album is played on acoustic guitar, the other half with an electric band (which includes guitarists Ry Cooder and Jesse Davis on a handful of tracks), which gives a pretty good impression of the range of Mahal's talents.


1. Leaving Trunk
2. Statesboro Blues
3. Everybody's Got To Change Sometime
4. Bound to Love Me Sometime
5. Frankie & Albert
6. East Bay Woman
7. Dust My Broom
8. Corinna
9. Jellyroll
10. Fishin' Blues
11. Sounder Medley: Needed Time #2/Curiosity Blues/Horse Shoes/Needed Time #3/Country Blues #1

Album Review - Music News, February 2019


Related artists

No related artists for Taj's Blues.

Shopping Cart