arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Sentimental Mood 1973 c/w Sonny Rollins With The Modern Jazz Quartet 1951 - 1953

Sentimental Mood 1973 c/w Sonny Rollins With The Modern Jazz Quartet 1951 - 1953

About this release

Sonny Rollins is an American jazz tenor saxophonist who is widely recognized as one of the most important and influential jazz musicians of his generation.  In a career spanning 70 or more years, he has recorded over sixty albums as a leader.  A number of his compositions, including "St. Thomas", "Oleo", and "Airegin", have become jazz standards.  Rollins has been called "the greatest living improviser".

The first three tracks on this 1973 collection see Rollins re-visiting the Duke Ellington standard “In A Sentimental Mood” along with his own composition “Keep A Hold Of Yourself” and the 1936 jazz standard “There Is No Greater Love” which he had first recorded for the album “Way Out West” in 1957.

We have also included with this fantastic value mid-price package the compilation album of music  Rollins recorded with The Modern Jazz Quartet and others which was released in 1956.  It features his earliest recordings for the Prestige label including four tracks performed by Rollins with the Modern Jazz Quartet (John Lewis, Milt Jackson, Percy Heath, and Kenny Clarke), eight tracks where Kenny Drew and Art Blakey replace Lewis, Jackson, and Clarke, and one track with Miles Davis on piano


Sentimental Mood 1973
1. In A Sentimental Mood
2. Keep A Hold Of Yourself
3. There Is No Greater Love

Sonny Rollins with The Modern Jazz
Quartet 1951-1953
4. The Stopper
5. Almost Like Being In Love
6. No Moe
7. In A Sentimental Mood
8. Scoops
9. With A Song In My Heart
10. Newk's Fadeaway
11. Time On My Hands
12. This Love Of Mine
13. Shadrack
14. On A Slow Boat To China
15. Mambo Bounce
16. I Know


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for Sentimental Mood 1973 c/w Sonny Rollins With The Modern Jazz Quartet 1951 - 1953.

Shopping Cart