arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Permanent Damage

Permanent Damage

Track highlights

About this release

The Icicle Works were an English alternative rock band and were named after the 1960 short story "The Day the Icicle Works Closed" by science fiction author Frederik Pohl.  They had a top 20 UK hit with "Love Is a Wonderful Colour" (1983) and in the US and Canada, they had only one top 40 hit, the 1984 single "Birds Fly (Whisper to a Scream)".

Led by singer/songwriter Ian McNabb, the band released five albums from 1984 to 1990 this mid-price collection being the last of the five.  Though they're routinely filed under new wave, The Icicle Works, on this album appear to owe more to American heartland roots rock and power pop than to the synth-dominated sounds that new wave has often been associated with.

The band broke up in 1991 but McNabb convened a revised line-up of the band in 2006 to play live shows which is still playing sporadic live dates.


1. I Still Want You
2. Motorcycle Rider
3. Melanie Still Hurts
4. Hope Street Rag
5. I Think I'm Gonna Be OK
6. Baby Don't Burn
7. What She Did To My Mind
8. One Good Eye
9. Permanent Damage
10. Woman On My Mind
11. Looks Like Rain
12. Dumb Angel


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for Permanent Damage.

Shopping Cart