arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Honest Abe

Honest Abe

About this release

‘Honest Abe and the Assassins’ is Tom Ovans' tenth album, and his best. Recorded at home on vintage and thrift store equipment, the four track recordings are rich and raw, eloquent, ragged and tender. Ovans played everything himself. Wrote and sang it all, too. ‘Honest Abe…’ is a two CD set - a big, sprawling epic hewn from a life lived in the shadows and on the edge. The scope is wide but the focus is personal, close-up, needle sharp. This is a work of weight and experience, maturity and depth. A culmination of sorts. It is an album of a lifetime that says more about America than it does any one man. As Gavin Martin wrote in UNCUT magazine, 'Honest Abe is a one-man Exile'. Tom Ovans lives in Austin, Texas. Track Listing Volume 1 1.Bakersfield Tonight 2.Hey Miss Lucy 3.Free Your Mind 4.Sunday Afternoon In Austin 5.Soul Street Shuffle 6.Send A Picture 7.In Memory Of Benny (2) 8.Song For The Homeless 9.In My Grave 10.My Home City 11.Pack Of Lies 12.Blow Man Blow 13.A Love Song 14.So Far Behind 15.Buddha 16.Innocent Man Volume 2 1.Midnight Eclipse 2.Nashville Blues 3.Sister's Farm 4.Love & Trust 5.Lovers In The Night 6.Alright 7.Code Of The West 8.Look Out 9.I Got a Feeling 10.In Memory of Benny (1) 11.New Orleans 12.Brownssville Tonight 13.Trains Go By 14.Light Travels With Buddha 15.There's A Line  

Related artists

No related artists for Honest Abe.

Shopping Cart