arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Great American Radio Volume 5

Great American Radio Volume 5

Track highlights

About this release

Malcolm John Rebennack Jr, better known by his stage name Dr John, was an American singer and songwriter. His music combines blues, pop, jazz, boogie-woogie, funk, and rock and roll.

Active as a session musician from the late 1950s until his death, he gained a following in the late 1960s after the release of his album Gris-Gris and his appearance at the Bath Festival of Blues and Progressive Music. He typically performed a lively, theatrical stage show inspired by medicine shows, Mardi Gras costumes, and voodoo ceremonies.


Along with Gris-Gris, Dr John is perhaps best known for his recordings between 1972 and 1974. He released Dr. John's Gumbo in 1972, an album covering several New Orleans R&B standards. It is considered to be a cornerstone of New Orleans music and is ranked number 404 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. And in 1973 he achieved a top-10 hit single with Right Place, Wrong Time.

This live set brought to you at mid-price was recorded at Manley Field House, Syracuse, New York on 7th April 1972 and features a number of songs from that period, including Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya and Iko Iko.

In all Dr John recorded thirty studio albums and nine live albums, as well as contributing to thousands of other musicians' recordings. Winner of six Grammy Awards, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame by singer John Legend in March 2011. Dr John died in June 2019 aged 77.


1. Intro
2. Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
3. Salt n Pepper
4. Familiar Reality
5. Keep On Hanging On
6. Rock n Roll Has Got A Beat
7. Let The Good Times Roll
8. I Walk On Guilded Splinters/ Zu Zu Mamou
9. Iko Iko/ Band Introductions
10. Little Liza Jane (Excerpt)
11. Mardi Gras Day
12. Wang Dang Doodle
13. Outro

Album Review - Shindig, September 2020


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for Great American Radio Volume 5.

Shopping Cart