arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Drive On

Drive On

Track highlights

About this release

Mott the Hoople were an English rock band with strong R&B roots, popular in the glam rock era of the early to mid-1970s. They are best known for the song "All the Young Dudes", written for them by David Bowie and appearing on their 1972 album of the same name.

This was followed by the album Mott (1973) which was a Top 10 UK Album and became the band's best seller to date in the US, and The Hoople in 1974.  A live album, Live, was quickly released, after which Ian Hunter left the group to form a solo band with Mick Ronson.

In January 1975, Ray Major and the lead singer Nigel Benjamin were added to continue the group, which abbreviated its name to Mott.  The new line up consisted of Pete Watts, Dale Griffin and Morgan Fisher, along with guitarists Ray Major (formerly of Opal Butterfly, Hackensack, and a brief stint with Andy Fraser and Frankie Miller) and Nigel Benjamin.

This led to Drive On, Mott’s first album released in September 1975.  Mott recorded a further album, Shouting And Pointing, with this line up which was released in 1976.


1. By Tonight
2. Monte Carlo
3. She Does It
4. I'll Tell You Something
5. Stiff Upper Lip
6. Love Now
7. Apologies
8. The Great White Wail
9. Here We Are
10. It Takes One To Know One
11. I Can Show You How It Is

Album Review - Rock Society, December 2018


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for Drive On.

Shopping Cart