arrow-right cart chevron-down-header chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up close close menu minus play plus search share user email pinterest facebook instagram snapchat tumblr twitter vimeo youtube subscribe dogecoin dwolla forbrugsforeningen litecoin amazon_payments american_express bitcoin cirrus discover fancy interac jcb master paypal stripe visa diners_club dankort maestro trash
Regular price

Direct Me

Direct Me

About this release

Clydie King was an American singer, best known for her session work as a backing vocalist.  King also recorded solo under her own name.  Discovered by songwriter Richard Berry, King began her recording career in 1956 with Little Clydie and the Teens, was a member of Ray Charles' Raelettes for three years and contributed to early 1960s recordings by producer Phil Spector.  

King recorded solo singles for Specialty Records, Kent Records and others, and using the name Brown Sugar her single "Loneliness (Will Bring Us Together Again)" reached No. 44 on the Billboard R&B charts in 1973.

King provided backing vocals for Humble Pie, which had great success in the United States, and she went on to become an in-demand session singer, working with Venetta Fields and Sherlie Matthews and recording with B.B. King, The Rolling Stones, Steely Dan, Barbra Streisand, Bob Dylan, Linda Ronstadt, Joe Cocker, Dickey Betts, Joe Walsh, and many others.

The album Direct Me brought to you at budget price was her first solo album.  Released in 1971 it includes the single "'Bout Love" which reached No. 45 on the Billboard R&B chart.

King passed away in January 2019 aged 75.


1. Direct Me
2. Ain't My Stuff Good Enough
3. First Time, Last Time
4. Never Like This Before
5. You Can't Go On Without Love
6. 'Bout Love
7. There's A Long Road Ahead
8. B Minor
9. You Need Love Like I Do
10. The Long And Winding Road


By the same artist

No more albums from this artist.

Related artists

No related artists for Direct Me.

Shopping Cart